BHRC Executive Committee

The Executive Committee

BHRC elects an Executive Committee, led by the Chair, every two years to lead on the policy, strategy and delivery of our work. They are supported by an Advisory Board and a dedicated Project Team. Executive Committee members contribute their substantial expertise pro bono to produce BHRC publications and statements, lead fact-finding missions, collaborate with local partners, and represent the Committee to the media, external organisations and the public. Following each election, members of the Executive Committee then elect specific Office Holders, who hold additional responsibility for leading the work of the organisation as a whole.

Chair & Vice Chairs

BHRC Secretary | Garden Court ChambersJo Cecil KC

Vice-Chair of BHRC | Garden Court ChambersGráinne Mellon

Office Holders

BHRC Treasurer | Garden Court ChambersJodie Blackstock

BHRC Secretary | LSE / QMULDr Theodora Christou

BHRC Membership Secretary | Doughty Street ChambersShanthi Sivakumaran

Executive Members

Doughty Street ChambersLouise Price

Doughty Street ChambersZimran Samuel

BHRC Advisory Board

BHRC’s Advisory Board is made up of previous BHRC Office Holders, senior members of the Bar and the judiciary, and individuals who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and/or service to the field of human rights. Members of the Advisory Board are appointed by the BHRC Chair, following consultation with the Executive and a majority vote.

Chair of BHRC | Doughty Street ChambersStephen Cragg KC

University of Amsterdam & Australian National UniversityKevin Jon Heller

House of Lords, Doughty Street Chambers & IBAHRIBaroness Helena Kennedy KC

Doughty Street ChambersMark Muller KC

BHRC Project Team

BHRC’s Project Team consists of two Project Officers and a Project Administrator. To get in touch with any of BHRC’s Executive Committee or a member of the Project Team, please email us.