NewsDecember 21, 2023

Introducing the new BHRC Executive Committee for 2024-25


The Bar Human Rights Committee of England and Wales (BHRC) is delighted to announce that Michael Ivers KC has been elected as chair of BHRC from 1 January 2024.

The following (in alphabetical order) have been elected as EC members from 1 January 2024:

Rachel Barnes KC
Soraya Bauwens
Jodie Blackstock
Bill Bowring
Joanne Cecil
Theodora Christou
Haydee Dijkstal
Josephine Fathers
Naomi Hart
Isabella Kirwan
Gráinne Mellon
Louise Price
Zimran Samuel MBE
Shanthi Sivakumaran
Pete Weatherby KC

There are up to five officer posts available and the new EC will elect those officers from their number, and there will be a further announcement when this process is completed.

The incoming Executive Committee thanks Stephen Cragg KC for his outstanding and extraordinary leadership as Chair and contribution to the work of BHRC over the past six years, two as Chair and four as Vice-Chair of BHRC. We look forward to continuing to work with Steve as part of the BHRC Advisory Board.