Introducing the new BHRC Executive Committee for 2020-21

Home » Posts » Introducing the new BHRC Executive Committee for 2020-21

The Bar Human Rights Committee of England and Wales is delighted to announce the results of its recent biennial election for the Executive Committee 2020-21.

Chair: Schona Jolly QC (Cloisters)

Vice-Chairs: Stephen Cragg QC (Doughty Street Chambers) and Gráinne Mellon (Garden Court Chambers)

Treasurer: Jodie Blackstock (JUSTICE)

Secretary: Joanne Cecil (Garden Court Chambers)

Membership Secretary: Michael Ivers QC (Garden Court Chambers)

Executive Committee members:

  • Jacob Bindman (Garden Court Chambers)
  • Bill Bowring (Field Court Chambers/Birkbeck, University of London)
  • Isabel Buchanan (Blackstone Chambers)
  • Theodora Christou (LSE/QMUL)
  • Tatyana Eatwell (Doughty Street Chambers)
  • Blinne Ní Ghrálaigh (Matrix Chambers)
  • Zimran Samuel (Doughty Street Chambers)
  • Kate Stone (Garden Court North Chambers)
  • Peter Weatherby QC (Garden Court North Chambers)
  • Aswini Weereratne QC (Doughty Street Chambers)
  • Amanda Weston QC (Garden Court Chambers)



We rely on membership subscriptions and individual donations to fund our ongoing work around the world.

Alaa is a British citizen imprisoned in Egypt on trumped-up charges. For two & a half years he has had no access to books, newspapers or sunlight. He urgently needs UK consular support. Write to your MP to help #FreeAlaa & bring him home to his family:

Our urgent action letter requesting the UK govt closely monitors the Israeli authorities' investigation into the fatal shooting of Al Jazeera journalist #ShireenAbuAqla. It is imperative that there is full legal accountability for this alarming incident